top of page
  • Writer's pictureLouise Collins

We're All Mad Here

This is just a small poem I once wrote for a contest based on our favourite Alice In Wonderland character. I was voted for runner up, but I don't know if it's still considered any good.




It makes me glad To hear I'm mad. I wouldn't want to Be any other way. Normal is boring. What life is a life Without a little weird?



A crackpot. A fruitcake. A head case. A lunatic. The Mad Hatter. That's what they call me. I welcome those titles, Wearing them like a crown. Cause if I was like everyone else, I think I would drown.



Who wants to be sane? It was once in my name. I used to be sane, With no crack in my brain. I lived a normal life. Happy, routine, content. Oh, how I spent My days making hats. Now I spend my days Just doing this and that.



When the time ran out Out spout the doubt. The bloody big head Painted the town red. Every hopeful shred Was turned into dread. The nightmares came And they plagued my brain. Tore me apart But they didn't touch My heart.



My brain was twisted But despite all that, I resisted. Her terror reigned down Upon this ghost town, But people stood tall Throughout it all. The resistance grew strong But I knew all along, That everyone would fall Down, down, spiraling down. Into submission or death.



Left alone with the horrors, I stayed defiant. I was no longer a roarer But a whisperer. My protest was silent Whilst she remained violent. My rage only grew And I lost a few screws, But my voice returned at last. I met my new crew, And we persisted, And we resisted. Until our savior took down The queen. And I let out a scream Down with the Bloody Big Head.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Peace

Bliss

Hope

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page