top of page
  • Writer's pictureLouise Collins

Unknown To You

Unknown to you,

I have loved you since

The day we met.

You smiled at me,

That warm, caring smile,

And I felt myself melt.

You introduced yourself and

Told me that you knew

We were going to be best friends.

I smiled back,

Grateful that someone as

Kind as you took me

Under your wing.


Unknown to you,

Was the jealousy I felt on prom night,

When your date was the one

Who kissed you as you danced.

But I favoured that night,

Because I saw you smile and laugh,

Dancing without a care in the world.

At

the start of the night I watched

The delicate way you curled your hair.

You don’t know how much

You took my breath away.

How beautiful you looked

In that emerald green dress,

Your red hair flowing

Like a river down your back.

How my heart leapt when you

Took my hand as we walked to greet our dates.

How my legs felt unstable being

So close to you but being

Unable to tell you

How I felt.


Unknown to you,

Were the nerves I felt

The day I came out.

My heart was beating

Along to a song I did not know.

You looked at me,

Knowing I was trying to speak,

To say something important.

You smiled at me,

That reassuring, warm smile,

And I was taken back,

To the first day we met as

That smile blew away all of my nerves.

“I’m gay,” I breathed out,

Letting the weight leave my body.

“And I’m in love with you.”


Unknown to you,

Were the butterflies I felt

The day I asked you

To marry me.

We walked around the park,

And I sat you down by the fountain.

I took your hands in mine,

Took a deep breath,

And began the most

Important question

Of my life.


Unknown to you,

Was the complete joy

That radiated from my body,

The day we said

“I do.”


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Peace

Bliss

Hope

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page