top of page
  • Writer's pictureLouise Collins

You, Me and the Zombie Apocalypse - Prologue



My heart pounds in my chest as I drive myself forward. Despite the burning in my lungs, and the ache in my legs, I know that I mustn’t stop. I can’t stop. Not if I want to keep living. Not if I want to see my family again. Not if I want to take these monsters down. I hear their feet pounding on the road behind me, and I can smell the overwhelming scent of blood coating them. I urge my legs to move faster and I turn down a hidden path behind a forgotten club. I sprint until I get halfway down the alley and jump over the gate. Ducking down with my back pressed against it, I allow myself to catch my breath, listening out for any noise, any at all. Unable to hear a thing, I breathe a sigh of relief.


Just as I move to put my head in my hands, a string of bullets ring out, piercing the gate I’m hiding behind. “Shit!” I spit out, before pulling myself up and running away from the gunfire. Staying low, but sprinting fast, I make my way down the alley behind the shops. Despite their movements being hidden by the whistles and bangs of gunfire, I am fully aware that they are on my heels. Turning down alley after alley, crossing streets and jumping over walls, I finally close in on my destination. I turn the corner and race to the door, pulling it open with as much force as I can.


“Took your time.” He says with a smirk as he comes through the door. Throwing me the gun, he pulls his own up in a waiting stance.

“I got a little sidetracked.” I nod my head in the direction I just came from as I turn the safety off the gun. He looks up then as the first few enter the alley way. We simultaneously get into position and aim our guns at the oncoming crowd, but before I say what happens next, let’s go back to one month ago, when all of this began.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page