top of page
  • Writer's pictureLouise Collins

Chapter 4 - YMatZA

For the next three days, I spend my time either training, watching old videos of Sofia and Oliver, reading - finally making a start on some of my many unread books-, writing or watching movies/ TV shows I had recorded. I’m able to increase my speed somewhat, giving me a small sense of victory. On the second Saturday, I realise I need to return to the shop, so I grab some bags, my lock-pick set and my key. I’m almost at the shop when I hear something nearby. The sound of footsteps and grunting surrounds the air, and my breath hitches at the realisation of the noise. They’re here. I take a deep breath, trying to steady my pounding heart before I spiral, and look around to see if I can find anywhere to hide within seconds. I can’t risk smashing a window, it’ll just draw them closer, and I don’t have enough time to try the locks of every building as I’m out in the open.


Making the decision to hide in the shop, which is under at least some cover, I continue walking, turning my head the whole time to evaluate my surroundings. Just as I turn the corner, I freeze. There, right inside of the shop entrance, are the zombies, the FMCBs. Scrounging around inside for the meat in the fridges and freezers. My eyes lock onto one of them, the purple veins protruding out of their back, their skin looking grey and wet, their muscles looking like they’re going to burst out. I try to move, but my feet are stuck. I’m frozen like ice, desperately trying to keep my breathing quiet. My right foot moves back slightly as I prepare to run, and a noise rings out. A can starts rolling into the street and my whole body flinches before I freeze in fear again. My eyes wide, I watch in horror as their heads prick up.


They’re about to turn around when one hand clamps around my mouth and another latches on to my arm, pulling me into a building. I’m ready to scream until the hand presses down on my mouth further and I’m pushed back into a wall, my head pushed to the side so I can’t see my captor.

“Don’t. Make. A. Sound.” Someone hisses into my ear. On the other side of this wall, I hear the grunting and pounding of the zombies as they run past, probably in search for the source of the noise. The person removes their hand from my mouth once the noise has faded away, also letting go of their grip on my arm.

“Okay, who the fuck are you and why did you pull me in here? Also, why the hell are you even still here?” I demand, twisting my head forward.


“You must be a whole new type of fuckwit to almost get yourself killed like that.” The voice says, coming into my view. The boy frowns as he takes me in, looking exasperated. “What were you thinking? The minute you saw them, you should have run. What’s your name?”

“I asked you first. Besides, I was going to run. I’m not idiotic, I’ve been fine for over a week.” I reply, setting a stony expression on my face. “And I’m not telling you anything until you answer my questions first.”

“We’re not children. This isn’t a fucking game.” He growls. I raise my eyebrow, waiting for a response. With a sigh, he continues. “I’m Josh, I was trying to save you from being brutally killed by the zombies. You’re welcome.” I glare, “and I didn’t want to leave.”


A small laugh rings out from the shadows, and a girl emerges. “Wow, less than a minute and she’s already in charge. I’m disappointed in you Josh, but you?” she turns to me. “You, I’m impressed with. I’m Lucie, what’s your name?”

“Matilda.” I reply, taking the girl in. She bears a striking resemblance to the boy, both have dark hair, and a similar facial structure.

“Even her name sounds prissy and pathetic.” Josh mutters with a snort.

“Excuse me? I am not pathetic. Or prissy.” I glare at him fiercely.

“Where’ve you been staying?” Lucie asks.

“My house, just up the road from here. What about you?”

“Here. It’s simple, and it’s near supplies. But we get around, do surveillance, that sort of thing.”

“How come I’ve not seen you before then?”


“Because we’re not stupid enough to get caught by anyone, especially the zombies.” Josh snarls at me.

“Josh, calm down. Damn, anyone would think you’re the one with the serum pumping through them.” Lucie says with a light chuckle, causing me to bristle.

“What exactly do you mean by that?” I ask, on edge and ready to run.

“None of your-”, Josh begins rudely before Lucie cuts him off.

“I was a volunteer. I was given the serum, but don’t worry. For whatever reason, I haven’t been affected that way. I’m stronger, and faster, but I’m in control of my mind, and my actions. That’s why we’re still here. Josh, being the caring but stupid twin brother he is, decided to stay behind rather than leave me. He didn’t know at the time that I was okay, he’s just an idiot and hoped for the best.” She tells me.

“So, you have no impulse to kill anyone?” I ask to make sure.

“Other than Josh for his annoying behaviour, no. I’m safe.” She offers a smile, reassuring me somewhat.


The three of us stand in awkward silence, all the while I can feel Josh’s eyes burning into me.

“What exactly is your problem?” I snap eventually.

“I just rescued you from becoming zombie lunch. One of them could have seen us. You might’ve compromised our position.” He snaps back.

“Well, if you’re so worried about that, I’ll just go back to mine. I’ve had zero problems there, so maybe it’s your own fault if this place is compromised.” He grunts and moves towards me, but Lucie rushes between us.

“Hey, cool it, you two. As he’s so antsy about this place now, how would you feel getting some new housemates? I promise, he’s potty trained.”

“I guess that won’t hurt, as long as he cools it with the dickishness.”

“Great, I’ll get our bags.” Lucie says with a smile, leaving Josh glaring at me. Just to piss him off, I give him a false sweet smile, and I see his jaw clench with irritation. Lucie comes back in seconds, and opens the door we came in through, giving the street a sweeping view.


“All clear, let's go. Lead the way Matilda.” She says with a flourish. We all start walking back to mine, Lucie walking alongside me, and Josh trailing behind, probably sulking.

“So, where exactly do you live?” She asks, taking in the streets.

“Park View.”

“Park View? Damn, you could have told us you were loaded.” She turns around to call to Josh, “hey, she lives in Park View! That’s why we won’t have ever seen her!”

“I did say she was a priss!” He calls back with a smirk. I scoff and roll my eyes, not retaliating or rising to his bait.

“Come on, don’t go all quiet on me now. We were just becoming friends!” He calls, taunting me.

“Shut up.” I hiss suddenly, my ears sensing a noise.

“What, can’t take it?” He mutters.

“Seriously Josh, be quiet.” I hiss.

“Josh, she’s right. I heard something.” Lucie warns him. His expression changes from mocking to serious and he swiftly moves closer to us.


“Are they here?” He asks his sister.

“Yeah, I can smell them.” She looks disgusted, but fierce, and I can’t help but admire her bravery. She shoves the bags into his arms. “You two go. I’ll hold them off and then I’ll come find you.”

“You’re not doing it on your own.” Josh protests.

“There’s only a few of them. I can handle it. Go, now, or I swear I will make you.” She fixes her brother with a glare, and he backs up almost immediately.

“Let’s go.” He says to me, turning around.

"It's number 15." I tell her with a nod. Josh and I set off running as Lucie throws a plastic bottle off a wall, drawing the Metamorphics to her. I see them rushing out of the bushes, and she takes off in the opposite direction to us. I don’t have long to admire her speed as Josh grabs my arm and pulls me along. We continue running until we get to my estate and I pull my key out letting us both in.

“Nice place.” Josh mutters as he takes in the view.

“Thanks. We can watch for Lucie from upstairs.” I lead him upstairs and I sit down in front of the window in the landing.


We sit in silence for ten minutes until Josh sees some movement. He jumps up to go downstairs and open the front door, me following behind. I hear him shout for her and I get to the door just as it closes.

“They’re feisty little bastards.” She exclaims looking bewildered. “No match for me, of course, but bloody good fighters. Ruthless too. You both would have been killed. No offense.” She sends an innocent smile at Josh, who, in return, scoffs and shakes his head.

“Oh yeah, nice try. You look so innocent with blood on your hands.” He retorts, drawing my attention to her knuckles which are smeared with black. I guess the serum must have messed up their blood.

“Lovely,” I say in mild disturbance. Lucie cleans herself up in the bathroom, and then I show them both around the house. I see Josh’s smirk when I show them the gym and his eyes catch the more expensive items. He probably thinks I’m nothing but a spoilt rich kid, but I’ll show him.

“Wait. I saw a Jeep in the drive. How come you didn’t drive that to the shops? Why would you go outside voluntarily?” He asks me.

“You do realise how loud those vehicles can get? A moving vehicle like that would draw way too much attention to me. I’m not an idiot.” He turns around sheepishly, and I see a glint of laughter in Lucie’s eyes.


Josh and Lucie leave their stuff in the living room, where we sit down to eat some rice.

“There’s a track nearby, isn't there?” Lucie inquires.

“Yeah, only ten minutes away. Why?” I respond.

“I was thinking, I can train you. I know you’ve got your own gym here, but it’d be beneficial to work on an actual track. We can see what you’re like and I can help.” She suggests.

“Yeah, that’d be great. I do want to be able to fight, or at least survive.”

“Great, we’ll start tomorrow. It’s getting late, so we should probably get some rest.” She stands up and takes our dishes to the kitchen whilst I check the lock and bolt for the front door.

“Sleep where you like, I don’t mind. You know where my room is if you need me.” I announce to them both as I begin walking upstairs.

“Enjoy your training tomorrow!” Josh calls sarcastically.

“I do hope you realise that you’re going too? You didn’t think that you don’t require training?” Lucie says to him. I laugh slightly as I hear the two bicker. His protests slowly die down and I can just about make out him accepting to do as she says. I can already tell that this is going to be hard work.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page